Mon Mar 30 2015   



CoverNavigating Climate Change Policy

The Opportunities of Federalism

Find out more...





Conservation cover image

Conservation of Shared Environments is now available! This first volume of the Edge series. Buy it, read a excerpt, or find out more..


Radio interview by Arizona Public Media of lead book editor Laura Lopez-Hoffman


Book launch party

In Development: Three more books are under way. They address the role of multiple scales of government in dealing with climate change, the need to preserve and conserve wide open spaces, and how we might adapt climate change. Check back periodically for updates.



Who We Are

Series Editors

Marc MillerMarc Miller

Marc Miller is the Ralph W. Bilby Professor of Law at The University of Arizona’s James E. Rogers College of Law. Miller teaches and writes on issues of environmental policy with a focus on public lands and natural resources. He is a graduate of the University of Chicago Law School and Pomona College. He served as a law clerk to Chief Judge John Godbold of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, as Attorney-Advisor in the Office of Legal Counsel of the U.S. Department of Justice, and as special counsel at the Vera Institute of Justice in New York. Miller is a member of the American Law Institute and an advisor to various environmental and criminal justice publications and organizations.


Barbara MorehouseBarbara Morehouse

Barbara Morehouse is the retired Deputy Director of the Institute of the Environment at the University of Arizona.  She earned an M.A. and a Ph.D. in geography and regional development from the University of Arizona.  She continues to carry out institutional analyses of climate impacts on water management in the Southwest and of complex society-environment relationships influencing fire management in the region. Morehouse also sustains an ongoing interest in the roles played by boundaries and border areas in science-society contexts.



Jonathan OverpeckJonathan Overpeck

Jonathan Overpeck is a climate system scientist at the University of Arizona and the co-director of the Institute of the Environment, as well as a professor of geosciences and atmospheric sciences. He received a B.A. from Hamilton College and M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from Brown University. He has published more than 130 papers in climate and the environmental sciences, and recently served as a coordinating lead author for the Nobel Prize-winning U.N. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Fourth Assessment (2007). He also has been awarded the U.S. Department of Commerce bronze and gold medals, as well as the Walter Orr Roberts award of the American Meteorological Society for his interdisciplinary research. In addition, Overpeck has been a Guggenheim Fellow and was the 2005 American Geophysical Union Bjerknes Lecturer. He serves on the board of reviewing editors for Science Magazine.



Emily Dellinger McGovern




Emily Dellinger McGovern
Developmental Editor


Emily Dellinger McGovern is a research analyst and editorial associate with the Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy at the University of Arizona and developmental editor for the EDGE books. She earned a B.A. from Grinnell College and an M.A. in geography from the University of Arizona. Prior to joining the Udall Center in 2006, McGovern worked at the Sonoran Institute as a research assistant in the adaptive management project, where she developed field indicators of visitor use and visitor impacts in National Parks and other public lands, and prepared technical reports and outreach publications on topics related to Sonoran Desert ecosystems and adaptive management.


Betsey Woodhouse




Betsy Woodhouse
Program Coordinator



Betsy Woodhouse is the deputy director of the Institute of the Environment and program coordinator of Edge Books.   She earned an A.B. from Colby College and an M.S. from Texas A&M University in geology, and a Ph.D. in hydrology form the University of Arizona. After working as a hydrologist in the private and public sectors, Woodhouse founded Southwest Hydrology, an award-winning trade magazine for hydrologists and water professionals in the Southwest. She was publisher of the magazine for eight years, both as an independent business and after selling it to the University of Arizona.



Board of Advisors


Gregory H. Aplet
Forest Ecologist
The Wilderness Society


Ronald D. Brunner
Department of Political Science
University of Colorado


Rainer L. Bussmann
Director and Curator
Missouri Botanical Garden


Andrew C. Comrie
Associate Vice President for Research
and Dean, Graduate College
The University of Arizona


Henry F. Diaz
Research Climatologist
NOAA Climate Diagnostics Center


Karl W. Flessa
Department Head, Geosciences
The University of Arizona


Lisa J. Graumlich
Dean, College of the Environment
University of Washington


Lance H. Gunderson
Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Studies
Emory University


Kevin Harrang
Former Deputy General Counsel, Microsoft

and Director, Metajure


Charles F. Hutchinson
Director, Office of Arid Lands and School
of Natural Resources and the Environment
The University of Arizona


Travis E. Huxman
Director, Biosphere 2 and Biosphere 2 Earthscience
The University of Arizona


Douglas Kysar
Professor of Law
Yale Law School


Laura López-Hoffman
Assistant Professor, School of Natural Resources
The University of Arizona


George Matsumoto
Senior Education and Research Specialist
Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute


Sharon B. Megdal
Director, Water Resources Research Center
The University of Arizona


Pierre Meystre
Director, Biosphere 2 Institute
The University of Arizona


Mary Kay O’Rourke
Section Chair, Environmental Health Sciences
The University of Arizona


Carol M. Rose
Lohse Chair, Water and Natural Resources
The University of Arizona


Joaquin Ruiz
Dean, College of Science
The University of Arizona


Glenn L. Schrader, Jr.
Associate Dean for Research and Administration
The University of Arizona


B.L. Turner II
Gilbert F. White Professor of Environment and Society
Arizona State University


Scott Whiteford
Director, Center for Latin American Studies
The University of Arizona


Robert A. Williams
Director, Indigenous Peoples Law and Policy Program
The University of Arizona


Xubin Zeng
Director, Climate Dynamics and Hydrometeorology Center
The University of Arizona

Updated: 07/22/2011