From the Dean
Wed Mar 04 2015 08:36:34 UA Law | From the Dean | College News  

College News

The Class of 2005 held its “100 Days Until Graduation” celebration in February, announcing its class gift goal of $50,000. At press time, more than $36,000 had been donated or pledged towards
this goal.

The Class of 1974 announced at its November reunion that its members
had raised over $30,000 for its 30-year reunion gift.

The College’s National Board of Visitors (BOV) convened at the College in January. The group’s new Co-Chairs, Deborah Sliz (’79) and Floyd Bienstock (’80), were welcomed by outgoing Co-Chairs Sally Simmons (’73) and Ted Schmidt (’77.) BOV members hosted tables at the 1L luncheon following the meeting.

In the fall of 2004, the law firm of Jennings, Strouss and Salmon presented Dean Massaro with a check for $50,000 to support the John Christian Scholarship. Pictured here (l-r) are John Christian (’59), Toni Massaro and George Spilsbury.

Law students Emilie Hyams, Chris Martinez, Jay Sagar and Andy Stevenson successfully defended clients before various courts while participating in the Immigration Law Clinic.

UA Law graduates who took the July 2004 Arizona Bar Examination exceeded the statewide pass rate of 66.5% by a wide margin, with an overall pass rate of 80.3%.

In September, a standing-room only crowd heard a presentation from Mark Prothero and Todd Gruenhagen, attorneys for Gary Ridgeway, the so-called Green River Killer. The lecture was part of the multidisciplinary Rogers Program in Law and Society.

Pictured here (l-r) are United States Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor and Law Professor Ana Merico-Stephens at a 9th Circuit Conference.

Six distinguished alumni received the College’s Lifetime Achievement Awards at a September luncheon. They are: former U.S. Senator Dennis DeConcini (’63); former Arizona Supreme Court Justice Stanley Feldman (’56); the late Martin Gentry (’29), a private practice attorney;

Selma Skora Paul Marks (’56), a former Legal Aid attorney and public prosecutor who continues to work on behalf of the University of Arizona and the College of Law; and the late Rose Silver (’30), a longtime lawyer who was Pima County’s first female County Attorney.

Hispanic Business Magazine recognized the College as one of the nation’s top ten law schools for Hispanic students, citing an excellent faculty/student ratio and a wide range of support services accessible to all students.

The Jim Crow Study Group, a collaboration between faculty and graduate students at the College of Law and the Eller School of Management, continued their efforts to educate Southern state legislatures about segregation-era statutes still on the books. As a result of the group’s report, issued in February 2004, several states have passed legislation to supercede these laws. Other states are expected to follow. Professor Chin heads the College of Law effort.

Several faculty members were awarded Professorships at the College of Law. They are: Gabriel “Jack” Chin, Chester H. Smith Professor of Law; Graeme W. Austin, J. Byron McCormick Professor of Law; David A. Gantz, Samuel M. Fegtly Professor of Law; and Jane Korn, John D. Lyons Professor of Law. Associate Dean Kay Kavanagh was also named the August G. Eckhardt Faculty Leader.

Arizona Supreme Court Justice (l-r) Charles Jones talks with Representative Ann Kirkpatrick (’79) at a Board of Visitors reception in Phoenix.

Law librarian Francisco Avalos, who helped build the College’s outstanding Foreign & International Law collection, retired from full-time status after 24 years
of service to the law school.

Arthur W. Andrews, the Dorothy H. and Lewis Rosenstiel Distinguished Professor of Law, retired in December (see story.)

Northwestern School of Law Professor and author Stephen Lubet recently spoke on his extensive research on the murder prosecution of Tombstone’s Earp brothers. His book represents the first scholarly treatment of the murder prosecution of the Earp brothers and Doc Holliday following the gunfight at the O.K. Corral.

Senator Edward M. Kennedy (D-Mass.) (left) delivered the Marks Memorial lecture in October to an audience of more than 500 attendees from the UA Law community and the public. Kennedy gave “A Senator’s Perspective on American Higher Education in the Global Economy.”

Pulitzer Prize winning author Samantha Power delivered the 2005 McCormick lecture at the College in February. The McCormick lecture can be viewed, via streaming video, on the College website at

At press time, The Law College Association was planning two spring fundraising events. The inaugural Gutterbowl, a Phoenix bowling tourney, takes place on February 25th, and the LCA Annual Appreciation Dinner, also in Phoenix, is scheduled for March 12th at the Arizona Club. Details on LCA activities are available at

Renovations to the second and third floors of historic Rountree Hall have been completed. The generous contributions of George Rountree (’60) and James Rogers (’62) funded the renovation and remodeling project.

Veronica Ashford, Administrative Associate, LL.M. Program in International Trade, retired after 25 years of service to the University of Arizona and 8 years of service to the University of Arizona Rogers College of Law. She is pictured here (left) with Professor David Gantz.

Third-year law student Mimi Klaiman recently won awards in two national writing competitions for articles about legal regulation of autopsies. Her essay, “Will All of Him Be at the Funeral?” took 3rd prize in the annual Law Student Writing Competition of the Yale-based journal “Legal Affairs.” Another essay won 2nd prize in the annual student writing competition in Bioethics of the American College of Legal Medicine.

Back Back
Return to Top Return to top
Print this Page
Email this Page Email this Page
Add to Favorites Add to Favorites