Mon Mar 30 2015   
Affilitiated Faculty

College News and Events

Arizona Law Names 2010 Convocation Honorees

Seven alumni and friends of the James E. Rogers College of Law received convocation awards for their respective achievements in law, public policy, and civic life. The College’s faculty annually selects a small group of individuals who have given outstanding service to the College or to the legal profession. Dean Lawrence Ponoroff presented the awards at the College’s convocation ceremony on May 15, 2010.

Recipients of the 2010 alumni awards included:

  • Raul Castro, Class of 1949, who was selected by students to deliver the convocation address. He is a former Governor of the State of Arizona and a former United States Ambassador.
  • Daniel Cracchiolo, Class of 1952, whose professional and civic leadership helped to build the legal profession in Phoenix.
  • Richard Grand, Class of 1958, a Tucson trial lawyer, internationally known for his advocacy skills and a primary supporter of College and University programs.
  • Ann Kirkpatrick, Class of 1979, a current member of the United States House of Representatives from Arizona’s First Congressional district, who serves on the House Committees on Homeland Security, Veteran’s Affairs, and Small Business Affairs.
  • Jeffrey Simmons, Class of 1986, a shareholder in the law firm of Ryley Carlock and Applewhite, who is concluding his two-year term as President of the Law College Association.

Two individuals received honorary alumni awards:

  • John Bouma, the chairman of Snell and Wilmer, LLP, who has served as an advisor to the College and a friend to many of its students and graduates.
  • Linda Lohse, who directs philanthropic programs for several private foundations, for her active engagement in College events and activities as well as her support for its students.

The convocation ceremony, including presentation of awards, can be viewed at